List of all Home Ministers of India Till Date and Other Information


List of all Home Ministers of India Till Date and Other Information

List of all Home Ministers of India Till Date and Other Information
In the Constitution of India, the Home Ministers of India (or simply, the Home Minister) is the head of Ministry of Home Affairs of the Government of India.
The post of Home Ministers of India is considered to be the most powerful post after the Prime Minister. Home Ministers of India is given the responsibility of maintenance of the nation’s internal security.
The Home Ministers of India is also assigned to look after the Indian Police Force. He is assisted by Minister of State of Home Affairs and Deputy Minister of Home Affairs.

First And Current Of the Home Ministers of India

Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel was the first Home Minister of independent India. He served as Central Cabinet Home Minister in Jawaharlal Nehru government of Indian National Congress party. He is popularly known as the Iron Man Of India. Amit Shah, after replacing Rajnath Singh, is the current Cabinet Minister of Home Affairs in the second term of Narendra Modi government of Bharatiya Janata Party.
Below is the list of Home Ministers of India. This the full list of India’s Home Ministers till date.

List of all Home Ministers of India Till Date and Other Information

Home Ministers of India In Office From To
Sardar Vallabhai Patel 15 August 1947 15 December 1950
C. Rajagopalachari 26 December 1950 25 October 1951
Kailash Nath Katju 25 October 1951 10 January 1955
Govind Ballabh Pant 10 January 1955 7 March 1961
Lal Bahadur Shastri 4 April 1961 29 August 1963
Gulzarilal Nanda 29 August 1963 14 November 1966
Yashwantrao Chavan 14 November 1966 27 June 1970
Indira Gandhi 27 June 1970 4 February 1973
Uma Shankar Dixit 4 February 1973 10 October 1974
Kasu Brahmananda Reddy 10 October 1974 24 March 1977
Charan Singh 24 March 1977 1 July 1978
Morarji Desai 1 July 1978 24 January 1979
Hirabhai M. Patel 24 January 1979 28 July 1979
Yashwantrao Chavan 28 July 1979 14 January 1980
Jail Singh 14 January 1980 22 June 1982
R. Venkataraman 22 June 1982 2 September 1982
Prakash Chandra Sethi 2 September 1982 19 July 1984
PV Narasimha Rao 19 July 1984 31 December 1984
Shankarrao Chavan 31 December 1984 12 March 1986
PV Narasimha Rao 12 March 1986 12 May 1986
Buta Singh 12 May 1986 2 December 1989
Mufti Mohammad Saeed 2 December 1989 10 November 1990
Chandra Sekhar 10 November 1990 21 June 1991
Shankarrao Chavan 21 June 1991 16 May 1996
Murli Manohar Joshi 16 May 1996 1 June 1996
HD Deve Gowda 1 June 1996 29 June 1996
Indrajit Gupta 29 June 1996 19 March 1998
Lal Krishna Advani 19 March 1998 22 May 2004
Shivraj Patil 22 May 2004 30 November 2008
P. Chidambaram 30 November 2008 31st July 2012
Sushil Kumar Shinde 31st July 2012 26 May 2014
Rajnath Singh 26 May 2014 May 30, 2019
Amit Shah May 30, 2019 Working


The Post of Home Ministers Of India is one of the most powerful posts but at the same time, this post needs someone who can take immediate actions on any incident. Sardar Vallabhai Patel was known to be the one who took action keeping the interest of everyone. There was something in him that made people call him the Iron Man of India. We hope our current Home Minister Of India Amit Shah can repeat the same doings.
Here, we provided you the List of all Home Ministers of India Till Date and Other Information. If you have any questions or query or any other information related to this article, you can let us know by dropping a message through the comment box below. We wait for the feedback and suggestions from everyone reading this article.
You can get more of such information through our portal Also, you can find all the latest information related to education, current affairs, internet, and daily news so make sure to subscribe to our portal and also share this article on social networking platforms Facebook twitter Whatsapp and more.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here